www.Travel-Rhodes.com - Rhodes island guide

German translation by Google French Italian Spanish Portuguese Japanese
Live Rhodes webcams
TOP 10

  • Sandi
  • St George Utah
  • Rhodes
    Date : 2012-06-11 13:39:23  
    Rating : Excellent

    I fell in love with all of Rhodes. I traveled the entire island and I especially loved old town. The people were so kind. I call this my new home away from home. Now there are many direct flights which makes it so much easier to get to!

  • Amy Bendall
  • uk
  • It's fantastic
    Date : 2007-01-23 14:01:30  
    Rating : Excellent

    Rhodes is fantastic i would love to go again ang get a loverly tan again i also loved the pool at the hotel that i stayed at. I loved the hotel that i stayed in it had everything that i needed. The weather their was good to sunbath in but at night i could not get to sleep but that doesn't matter. The beach was loverly the sea was just so relaxing to lie in. The peolpe their were so nice to me i made friends with them and i learnt tospeak part of the Greek language. The shop's had English food for me to eat and Greek food for me to try i would love to try it again. The pub's were good fun to go and have a drink in them. The cafe's their had such good food it is all so clean. Sometime i might go again if i have got the money now i know why it is so deer because it is a fantastic holiday resort. Write to youagain when i've been again see you Amy Bendall

  • Ms. Bug
  • Phoenix
  • amazing, amazing, amazing!
    Date : 2006-12-20 12:34:09  
    Rating : Excellent

    Last October Ed and I went to Greece for three weeks. It was very very fun. We spent two days in Athens (perfect amount). Then three days on the island of Santorini (not enough time at all!! I could have spent three more days there). Then we spent 4.5 days on the island of Rhodes.. that was amazing, amazing, amazing! We loved Rhodes. The water was turquoise and you could see for miles and miles. There are these AMAZAING castles on Rhodes. I could talk for days about Rhodes. We took a lot of back roads around the island and got to see so many rural and beautiful places. We’d go back to Santorini & Rhodes for sure.

  • Tim Ross
  • Worthing, UK
  • Rhodes Island
    Date : 2006-08-26 12:06:25  
    Rating : Excellent

    What an incredible place. Rhodes offers almost any kind of holiday you could want. If you want peace and quiet, you’ll find it on Rhodes. If you want activities and night-life, Rhodes has got it. If you want to explore history and culture, that is there too. The island is clean, the locals are very warm and friendly to tourists. English is spoken everywhere and most signs are in English too.

    We particularly wanted a holiday that gave us that get-away-from-it-all feel, with a relatively quiet beach on which to do some snorkelling. Nightclubs and discos were definitely out! At the same time we also wanted to see some of Greece’s history, do a bit of exploring and meet some of the locals. Rhodes gave us exactly what we wanted.

    Rhodes Old Town is a medieval marvel. Its ancient narrow streets are lined with small shops and restaurants that make you feel as if you are in North Africa somewhere. The other main tourist destination is Lindos. It too has narrow winding streets that ultimately lead up to an Acropolis. You can walk up to this, but the five euro donkey ride is definitely worth it.

    Definitely hire a car or a moped – even if it is only for a day or two. With Seven Springs, Valley of the Butterflies, Kamerios, Prassonissi, Ialyssos, Profitis Ilias, beautiful old churches, many coves and beaches... we ran out of days in which to see everything!

  • sandra lodwick
  • sussex uk
  • a family report
    Date : 2006-08-11 12:07:19  
    Rating : Above average

    We have just returned home from a family holiday in Rhodes , we stayed in a private villa on the side of a mountain in Kalathos which is a very quiet area and good for a central point .What I really wanted to say was that we had a fantastic week with our 2 children ( 13 and 9 )It was their first time abroad . While in Rhodes we visited Rhodes old town , Lindos where we ate 3 times and rode donkeys up to the acropolis , and 3 fantastic beaches . All were great experiences which we wouldnt have missed with lovely friendly people and hospitality we wouldnt fault ....with one small but ...... sadly in a week we didnt have time to discover the greece that we wanted to show our children , maybe we chose the wrong island or didnt have enough time to find the places in the films or the postcards , I am not saying that we didnt like rhodes but it seems to have lost a little of the charm of the other greek islands that we have visited , the tourism is very evident in places like lindos which is a shame because it is a beautiful town with lovely friendly people . The landscape of the island is very dry and rugged so it is not as attractive as some of the other greener islands that we visited pre children .I dont want to sound like I am sitting on the fence ....maybe it is a shirly valentine fantasy but if you want an unspoilt by tourism holiday look hard in Rhodes and on the other hand if you want a hospitable holiday with beautiful beaches and lovely people you have found it there as everyone welcomed our children and never gave us any feeling that they had seen enough tourists for one day !! Oh and just as a postscript the villa was perfect !!! Our own pool 5* accommodation and the children have had a taste for foreign climate that we will just have to keep up now !!!

  • jess
  • telford
  • pefkos
    Date : 2006-07-02 15:16:55  
    Rating : Excellent

    hi im jessy and this is my review on rhosos My Grandparents and i went to rhodos on the 10th may 2006 to prfkos and we stayed in the FINAS HOTEL it was a wonderful place to stay and i would like to imform you that if i would recomend a holiday abroud rhodos is the place to go (pefkos) its a grat place for kids teenagers adults and the elderly the people are all friendly and you feel totaly safe walking around at night everybody looks out for everybody and there is no nastyness at all. we would also like to say if you get to go to pefkos i would recomend the boat trip tp lindos it was a apsolutly amazing experiance and i would love to do it again and it was the moment in my entier life the holiday was amazing and i ment some wonderfull people and thats all i say GGGGOOOO TTTTOOOO PEFKOS jessy

  • Jo Wilkinson
  • Tewkesbury UK
  • Rhodes
    Date : 2006-05-10 15:19:48  
    Rating : Excellent

    Rhodes is a beautiful island. The people are friendly and the welcome is warm. Faliraki does not deserve its reputation as a sleazy resort, leave the party areas, go to the smaller bars and restaurants, and you will see the real side of Faliraki. Try Thomas's bar for genuine welcome and excellent service. Try the Venezia hotel, the owners are kind, fun loving [people. Go to Rhodes town, it is stunning. Monolithos is breath taking, Lindos is truly beautiful. I love Rhodes. So will you.

  • Sharon Colin And Amy
  • Newton Aycliffe,Uk
  • Rhodes Sunday Appartments
    Date : 2006-03-23 20:00:31  
    Rating : Excellent

    We visited Rhodes in August 2005 and stayed in the Sunday Appartments in IALYSSOS/IXIA. Its the second time we have been to Rhodes and once again were not dissapointed with this fantastic island. The people of Rhodes are friendly and helpful and helped to make this a memorable holiday.All the usual tourist places are worth a visit and some of the excursions that are available are very good, but you may wish to hire a car if you plan on doing a few. The Sunday Apartments are a great place to stay the propriators Toula and Tina are very welcoming and will feel like old friends by the end of your holiday. The hotel itself is conveniently situated close to the main route into Rhodes town. Rooms are basic but adequate (no aircon) and are situated around a nice pool and lawned area and a bar. There are only 20 or so rooms so the pool and bar never seem crowded. I would certainly recommend a stay at Sunday Appartments and if you dont mind friendly and intimate you wont be dissapointed. (go to Faliraki beach Rhodes town by day and night)

  • Phedon Bilek
  • U.S.A.
  • Haraki, rhodes
    Date : 2006-02-25 02:50:10  
    Rating : Excellent

    Excellent place to visit...great for the kids!!

  • kim & jamie
  • glasgow
  • wedding
    Date : 2005-11-15 09:47:16  
    Rating : Excellent

    wedding was fantastic! 32 off us were there and still talk about it! our wedding was in may and the weather was fantastic! the wedding co-ordinator was the best her name was gill and we would recogmend her to anyone! we will never forget that day. its very memorible. rhodes town was the wedding and we couldnt have picked a better location. after the wedding we went to a beautiful restaurant in ixia were we stayed the restaurant was called the posedonia they were fantastic people and they entertained us doing all the greek dancing! the hotel we stayed was the rodian in ixia and the we cant fault it! next year were back for our anniversary and we cant wait! so if ur getting married in rhodes we wish you both all the happiness in the world!

  • r cooper
  • nottingham uk
  • Thank you Rhodes
    Date : 2005-10-08 22:05:22  
    Rating : Excellent

    This year was our first time to Rhodes but not to the Greek islands. Over the last 20 years we have been to many of the many of the islands for 4/6 weeks per year.

    So we went to Rhodes and found yet another paradise. We stayed in Rhodes town and caught the bus to many parts of the island. They are always on time and clean, Lindos well what a jaw dropper the narrow streets yet the fragrance is stunning it is cool inside and a sheer wonder a must see cannot explain.

    Rhodes town and the fort what a major work of architectural wonder. The churches, the museums, one must go to experience the sheer size, the shops, every thing one want. Take empty suitcase as it is a shoppers dream with all the designer shops in new town. Two people 1ltre of wine three courses 30 euros, just pick a tavarna and eat away, the next day walk the hills among the pine trees, Thank you Rhodes

  • Lisa Lock
  • Cumbria
  • Kolymbia
    Date : 2005-09-20 22:57:57  
    Rating : Excellent

    My husband and I recently stayed at The Altlantica Imperial Hotel in Kolymbia, we stayed for 2 weeks and during our stay we got married within the hotel grounds. It was a perfect day, perfect setting, beautiful scenery and the Thomson Staff were wonderful. This hotel, their staff and location are highly commended - we loved every minute of our stay. We also visited many places whilst in Rhodes, but our favourites have to be Lindos and The Valley of the Butterflies. So much to do and see, both are well worth the visit.

  • jackie
  • Louisiana, U.S.A.
  • rhodes city
    Date : 2005-07-19 17:33:00  
    Rating : Excellent

    Hi,if you are planning to take a trip to rhodes, you have chose a great spot.I am sixteen and I took a trip to Rhodes Island with my mother and my fathor in December. I enjoyed myself and the people there made us feel like we were right at home.There is so much to do if you plan to stay in the city and you will never get board.I would suggest you bring a confertable pare of walking shoes and maybe a light jacket if you plan to stay in the months of November to January.It is almost always sunny and warm there except in a few months but it never get to cold.Rhodes is a very beautiful and exciting place to stay.In the future I plan to return and stay at the Plaza Best Western where all the staff were great.If you do choose to make a stop by Rhodes you will not regret the time you spent there.It is rich with history and it is a place where you can buy some of the most beautiful jewlery.Rhodes is a great place and I would recommend a family vacation for everyone.

  • C. Martin
  • uk
  • Rhodes
    Date : 2005-07-05 20:13:50  
    Rating : Above average

    We have just got back from Rhodes this morning a night flight and it was delayed besides that we had lovely time at Rhodes. We stayed at Pefkos it was good a bit to busy for me we found Lardos i thought that was great went on trip to Symi that was out of this world.

  • Stuart
  • Wakefield
  • Rhodes the Island
    Date : 2005-03-03 16:53:07  
    Rating : Above average

    Like Andrew the previous reviewer my wife and myself have visited rhodes twice a year (May & Oct) for the last 15 years, staying in Pefkos at the Pefkos Beach Hotel. This is a great place for couples & families alike, the resort has changed much over the time it's moved from a sleepy hamlet to a bustling resort hosint numerous bars & Restraunts, but it still has not lost the rustic charm, I remember the days when one walked back to your hotels with nothing more than the moonlight to guide your way, no footpahs either, they were the good old days, but time moves on and so has Pefkos. We love the Island so much and have made so many Greek friends, especially the Mingos family who are the owners of Pefkos Beach Hotel, that we have decided to settle on this idylic island and have recently completed the purchase of our new home in Kiotari,we now look forward to the next chapter in our lives and consider ourselves fortunate to be able to persue our dream.

  • Andrew
  • Essex
  • Rhodes
    Date : 2005-01-31 22:13:30  
    Rating : Excellent

    I am a Rhodes repeater for the last 15 years. Rhodes is not just a heady and hedonistic cocktail of beaches, bikinis and Bacardi strollers as many present it. You can find the wild nighlife almost in every bar on the island, but there are however, good reasons for packing a pair of walking shoes. I love Rhodes and suggest to try ro find the Rhodes less travelled...

    Write your review of RHODES