www.Travel-Rhodes.com - Rhodes island guide
HOME | E-CARDS | MAILING LIST | RHODES PHOTOS  
 

 
SEARCH
German translation by Google French Italian Spanish Portuguese Japanese
RHODES
HOTELS
RESTAURANTS
CAFE
CAR RENTAL
CLUB
TRAVEL AGENCY
JEWELRY
INTERNET CAFE
RENT A MOTO
SHOPPING
TRADITIONAL PRODUCTS
CONFERENCES
EXCURSIONS
TRANSFERS
REAL ESTATE
WEDDINGS
TATTOO
RENT A PRAM
Live Rhodes webcams
MAP
INFORMATION
VILLAGES
BEACHES
WORTH SEEING
RHODES VIDEOS
PHOTO GALLERY
360 PANORAMAS
TOP 10
DODECANESE ISLANDS
E-CARDS
MAILING LIST
NEWS
SEARCH
ABOUT US
LINKS
RHODES THE VALLEY OF THE BUTTERFLIES REVIEWS

  • S Davies
  • Wales, UK
  • Valley of the Butterflies
    Date : 2013-11-28 10:19:11  
    Rating : Above average

    WE went too late to see the spectacle of the butterflies. However, we did see some that were apparently dead. We understand the wardens on this reserve will climb down over the railings and clap their hands so the butterflies swarm up to create a spectacle for tourists. We understand the number of butterflies is actually in decline, and we can understand why. As the butterflies have a limited fuel supply, having stocked up on nectar to enable mating for the next generation, it seems utter stupidity to inflict a stressful situation on them so the tourists can take pictures. The wardens should act the same as the advice given to spectators and that is - 'Don't make loud noises and don't go beyond the railings' This is a Rhodos phenomena. Lets hope common sense prevails and the wardens are banned from making a disturbance. Nature is fragile and we need to look after it

  • ADELLE DUNBERG
  • pembroke pines, florida
  • valley of the butterflies
    Date : 2012-10-21 09:31:06  
    Rating : Excellent

    The valley of the butterflies was a phenomenom. The colors were so beautiful.Looked like a painting

  • adelle dunberg
  • pembroke pines, florida
  • butterflies
    Date : 2012-10-21 09:29:35  
    Rating : Above average

    The valleyof the butterflies is worth seeing The butterflies come from Africa to Rhodes in September. It is a beautiful sight.

  • alex wickham
  • bromley
  • the valley of butternuts
    Date : 2009-12-30 10:56:56  
    Rating : Above average

    i loved the butterflies the best :)

  • Michael Brain
  • Chester
  • Kalopetra
    Date : 2009-12-30 10:54:46  
    Rating : Above average

    Kalopetra & the valley of the Butterflies on Rhodes. If you go to the Greek island of Rhodes, do visit the Petaloudes Gorge and The Pangia Monastery of Kalopetra for the íValley of the Butterfliesó), as I did with my wife jean in June 2008; a cool shaded ravine overhung by Firs and Maple trees with a gentle stream that meanders down through pools, providing an environment for the rare íkalimorfaó butterfly coloured bright orange with black tip markings. Entrance costs 5 Euros, and visitors are advised NOT to make loud noises or venture past the railings, as it will disturb their habitat. However, the valley wardens are allowed to climb down to clap their hands and make a noise which startleós the thousands of resting butterflies, causing them to fill the air in huge swarms, only to ídisappearó again when they settle and fold in their wings as camouflage, displaying what looks like a brown triangular leaf, covered in golden íveinsó. The steep pathway down the gorge can be hazardous as it is made up of large pebbles which can be ípolishedó by many feet, and the wooden bridges and hand rails are made from local branches, and seem quite flimsy. Sit a while, and visualise the events recounted in pp.359 -374, íRace of Scorpionsó Penguin pbk.by Dorothy DunnettThe storyós events at Lindos , the harbour & The Grand Masterós Palace are harder to imagine, except in dreams, because of the march of history & modern progress.The Old Town & its walls, along with Mandraki harbour and the Palace ( restricted opening hours), are worth a visit.

  • Denise Walker
  • Worthing, West Sussex
  • Pefkos, Rhodes
    Date : 2006-05-27 18:14:22  
    Rating : Excellent

    I visited Rhodes four years ago with my husband Peter and was totally enchanted by it. The whole time we were there I kept saying we must bring the children back. When Peter and I cam it was late October and the weather was glorious. We travelleda ll over the island, to Rhodes town, Lindos, The Butterfly Gardens, Ancient ruins, it was wonderful. THe food is the best I have ever had in Greece. Pefkos itself was a delight, quiet but ut enough going on to keep us entertained. I cannot wait until tomorrow when we will return for a week with the children. I would thoroughly recommend it to both couples and families.

  • bernie cranmer
  • rotherham south yorkshire
  • rhodes island
    Date : 2004-07-24 16:49:53  
    Rating : Excellent

    I went to Rhodes in 2000 and was amazed at what a beautiful Island it was, the people are all friendly,I stayed in Pefkos at the Summer memories Apts,Vasilis the owner and his family made us feel really welcome and special, we have kept in touch ever since and I am going back tomorrow for 2 weeks,Butterfly Valley, the place where the 2 sea meet, the 3 Ancient Cities,Lindos are all well worth checking out,hire a car rather than go on organised trips and explore the little villages and the island itself, it doesn't matter if you don't speak greek you can get by with a friendly smile and a few hand gestures,give it a go you will love the place.


    Write your review of THE VALLEY OF THE BUTTERFLIES


    BACK TO THE VALLEY OF THE BUTTERFLIES

    BACK TO PREVIOUS PAGE